Crazy Cat Lady Indeed

I am an unashamed cat lover also known as a “crazy cat lady” to many. I mean, look at the feline theme around my website (I credit Jennifer Buddin with coming up with that, but it certainly fits).

HRH3

Anyone who follows me on Facebook or Instagram knows about my beloved tuxedo kitties, Bootsie and Bella. They might also see the, um, weird sites I follow. I was excited to get one of Elizabeth’s old teachers to come babysit, but unfortunately, she did not know about my cat obsession. The day before she was supposed to come, she sent me a text: “I meant to ask earlier, but do y’all have any cats?” When I replied yes, she said, “I am highly allergic. It will even affect me if neighbors have cats or if there’s any hair at all. Without the cat in the house, I can maybe last an hour or two on a good day, but with one in there, I react in less than ten minutes. I could still watch her; we just couldn’t be around any cats or cat hair.”

Yikes!!

She did end up coming and taking Elizabeth out of the house. They had a great time together, and no harm done, thank goodness.

This occurrence got me thinking about how cats have always been a huge part of my life, and it was also timely to post my recent article on Franklin the Fire Cat that I wrote for Charleston Animal Society ‘s magazine, Carolina Tails.

Screen Shot 2015-07-24 at 11.54.06 AM

Franklin was born under the Diesel Tank two years ago, and he pretty much does what he wants in Fire Station 15 on Coming Street. And being the “unofficial mascot,” Franklin is well taken care of by the firefighters. Most importantly, Franklin brings smiles to the faces of the firefighters who often encounter unpleasant and dangerous situations in their lives. At Charleston Animal Society, Franklin was neutered, microchipped and given his shots.

IMG_3180 IMG_3355 IMG_3258

 

 

Bootsie and Bella always make it onto my Christmas card (although they have been demoted since Elizabeth was born.) Before I got married, here was one I had done. No, this is not photo-shopped, and Gaines, my then-boyfriend, took us to the pet store to get it taken. I think he is still wondering why he didn’t run far, far away before it was too late.

182642_10150140547620832_684315_n

Recently, I posted a  picture of Bootsie and Bella getting kitty treats on their birthday. No one was really surprised. One friend even said, “Dying and coming back as your cats.” And yes, they are only nine years old. Since they are still considered “Ravenel cats,” the odds are in their favor that they will probably live to 22 and 23 like the last two cats my family had. Lucky Gaines!

11701078_10205471255155371_7938598592121022096_n

Last week my friend brought me her Furminator, and I went to town on my “fluffy” cat, Bella. I told Gaines that was the highlight of my week, and he said that he knew this and that is what was scary. Seriously, though, this is not a sponsored blog post I have set up with Furminator (although that would be kinda nice). That thing works; I mean, look at all of that hair removed. Bella is not shedding like she was (it was bad, really bad), and she looks like she even lost some lbs.

IMG_8834

IMG_8831IMG_8837

 

IMG_8854
Seriously, the Furminator works. I am now officially following their Instagram account.

 

IMG_8817
My dad had never had a cat until he and Mom got married 46 years ago. He is quite used to it, but he still wonders why the cats always like him best when he shows them zero attention. Here, Bootsie is comin’ in for some love.

 

IMG_8772
Bella and Monkey (Mom and Dad’s cat) wait patiently for their dinner. Aren’t they cute?!

If anyone wants to blame the whole cat phenomenon on someone, my mom is the one to blame. She has always said, “Love me; love my cats.” I wholeheartedly agree with this mantra.

2 thoughts on “Crazy Cat Lady Indeed

Leave a comment